300 Security Personnel From CAPF, PAP And State Police Guard Polled EVMS Round The Clock

CCTV Cameras For E-Surveillance Of Strong Rooms, Ros Supervise Strong Rooms Twice In Day

Nawanshahr : To ensure tight security of the polled Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in three of assembly segments of Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar district, as many as 300 security personnel from Central Para Military Force (CAPF), Punjab Armed Police and state Police have been deployed by the district administration for the security cover.Chief Electoral Officer Dr S Kruna Raju, who checked the security arrangements in Balachaur, Nawanshahar and Banga’s strong rooms accompanied by Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer Vishesh Sarangal, Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Kanwardeep Kaur, said that inner perimeter of the strong rooms is being guarded by one platoon of the Central Para Military Force deployed outside the strong rooms in each assembly segment.  He said that second perimeter of the strong room is being protected by one section of the Punjab Armed Police and outer security cover to strong rooms in each assembly segment is being provided by Punjab Police.

Expressing satisfaction over the arrangements, he said that fool proof security arrangements have been made by the district administration at these centres to ensure the counting for the elections would be held in a smooth and hassle free manner.He added said that CCTV cameras have been installed for e-surveillance of these strong rooms round the clock.He told that all contesting candidates can depute their representatives to keep a close watch on the arrangements for the security of the strong rooms.Raju told that the each returning officer have been visiting strong rooms (upto the inner perimeter only) twice in day (morning and evening) and sending report after checking log book and videography.

Meanwhile, Deputy Commissioner said that three Strong rooms have been set up in district including Baba Balraj Punjab University Constituent College in Balachaur, Guru Nanak College for Women in Banga and Doaba College of Engineering & Technology, Chhokran, Rahon in Nawanshahar.He added that this time keeping in view COVID Protocol, each counting hall to have seven tables instead of 14. For this, each constituency would have two halls for counting. Besides, security arrangments would also be made in such a way that no one can any kind of problem to the process.Prominent among present on the occasion included ADC (G) Jasbir Singh , SDMs Navneet Kaur Bal, Deepak Rohilla, Dr Baljinder Singh Dhillon, SP Maninderbir Singh,IPS Jasroop Kaur Baath,  DRO Ajitpal Singh and others.



Chief Electoral officer PunjabDC SBS NagarDeputy Commissioner S.B.S. NagarECIElection Commision PunjabElection Commission of IndiaNawanshahrPunjab Assembly Elections 2022Punjab ElectionPunjab Election-2022S.B.S. NagarShaheed Bhagat Singh NagarVishesh Sarangal